Training: Non-Hiking Activities

When I am not hiking, my goal is to have at least five days a week of an hour of exercise. Thus far, the core aspects of my off-trail training:

Strength & Flexibility:

Yoga: my usual yoga classes are at Greener Postures Yoga which teaches and practices the heated flow of Vinyasa Yoga. The Vinyasa practice focuses on synchronizing breath and movement where you are constantly moving and flowing in and out of postures.  The classes range from 60-90 minutes depending on the day and instructor. My goal is to go to yoga at least 3 times a week and is the centerpiece of my training.

I have also been supplementing my Vinyasa Yoga with a fusion class of Kettle Bell Yoga at Zuja Wellness. Eric is the instructor for this class and he fuses traditional Kettle Bell exercises with yoga training. I like this class because it is a strong focus on improving muscle strength. It really gets my heart rate racing and focuses a lot of work on strengthening the legs, core and back.

Cardio & Endurance:

Running: my goal with my running regimen is to build up to being able to run 4-5 miles relatively comfortably. I just started running for the first time since pre-surgery in May 2012 and I am able to do a mile without too much problem. I plan to slowly build up mileage as I become stronger and increase my endurance.

Biking: I have not busted out the bike yet as we are waiting for the last throes of winter to melt away. But as the weather warms up and day light extends, I plan on getting on the bike a few days a week as well. The East Coast Greenway goes right through the center of South Portland and is fantastic for riding and it is easy to add miles very quickly, and safely.

But for now – after my Kettle Bell Yoga class today, it is nap time. And as anyone who has looked at training programs before will tell you, rest is a critical part of training.

About Pathway To The Presidentials

My name is Chris and I am planning on hiking the White Mountains' Presidential Traverse in September 2013. I live in Maine. I am an early-30 something dude of sasquatchian proportions who loves the outdoors, loves hiking, and pushing myself mentally, spiritually and occasionally physically through various pursuits in an effort to learn about myself, others and the world around me.
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

