Upcoming Hikes & A Couple of Quick Hits

It is Monday and I am already looking forward to the weekend. I know, I know… so is everyone else. But this week in particular, there are a couple of hikes that I am looking forward to.  We’re celebrating a friend’s birthday up in the Whites this weekend which will end up in a hike to a cabin as well some exploring in the area.  And to kick things off, Ben is dragging me up Mt. Washington, as long as the weather holds. The weather is always iffy on Mt Washington so we’re holding off on the actual plan until we get closer and see what Mother Nature has in store for us. But if things head in the direction I want, I will post about what our plan is before we hit it on Friday.

In the meantime here is a couple of links worth checking out:

  • AMC’s Equipped is a fantastic source of news in the gear world. Matt is always writing about different products or sharing information to think about when selecting gear. It is a great starting point for anybody who is on the hunt for gear. This week he posted about Gore-Tex and why your boots can sometimes feel wet (a rather fitting read given my recent mission to find new boots).  After finishing this post, read his archives as there is so much information he shares. 
  • hikeSafe is a program by the White Mountain National Forest and New Hampshire Fish and Game. The idea is to educate hikers and those who enjoy the outdoors by sharing common sense guidelines to help plan and execute your adventure. This way,  you and everyone you are with can safely enjoy themselves.  Read more about hikeSafe here. More importantly, practice these guidelines and share them with your fellow adventurers.

 

 

-cb-

About Pathway To The Presidentials

My name is Chris and I am planning on hiking the White Mountains' Presidential Traverse in September 2013. I live in Maine. I am an early-30 something dude of sasquatchian proportions who loves the outdoors, loves hiking, and pushing myself mentally, spiritually and occasionally physically through various pursuits in an effort to learn about myself, others and the world around me.
This entry was posted in Gear, General Knowledge, Hikes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

