Oh What A Time!

There has been a lot going on for the past two weeks and surprisingly not a lot to do with hiking! I am freshly back from a trip out west where I had the honor, joy and privilege to perform the marriage ceremony of two of my closest and dearest friends in Muir Woods underneath the awes inspiring canopy of redwood trees outside of San Francisco. The week was a perfect celebration (complete with perfect weather) and overall a perfect vacation.

Now that I am back, however, it is time to get back to it. I have not been hiking the past two weekends; limiting myself to running (I even squeezed in a run in Golden Gate Park while in San Francisco), some bike riding, and my normal yoga practice to get me by. Yoga has been kicked up a notch because Ben convinced me to start attending more 6 AM classes at the studio. The biggest advantage is that it frees up the evenings for other activities such as going for a walk, a run a bike ride or meeting up with friends for a beer!

As far the hiking – this weekend we are bound for Mt. Moriah near Gorham, NH. This will be an official time trial hike. Depending on the trail combination it is between 9 miles and 10.6 miles long and about 3300′ of elevation gain. According to the BHA (Ben’s Hiking Algorithm) this comes in at a cut off about 5 1/2 hours. This is a tall order as it is my biggest challenge yet, but I am excited to give it a shot. It will be a good barometer to see where I am at and what I need to work on in.

Here are some pics from my run today down to the lighthouse. Enjoy!

About Pathway To The Presidentials

My name is Chris and I am planning on hiking the White Mountains' Presidential Traverse in September 2013. I live in Maine. I am an early-30 something dude of sasquatchian proportions who loves the outdoors, loves hiking, and pushing myself mentally, spiritually and occasionally physically through various pursuits in an effort to learn about myself, others and the world around me.
This entry was posted in Hikes, Photos, Training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

